Page 1 of 1

Seven Deadly Sins

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 1:42 am
by Ken Campbell
I am looking for Chinese Carachters representing the seven deadly sins:

1. vainglory or pride
2. avarice, covetousness, or greed
3. lust, understood as inordinate or illicit sexual desire
4. envy
5. gluttony, which usually included drunkenness
6. anger
7. sloth or laziness

I have heard that the carachters are the same whether Cantonese or Manderin ... is this true? How does pronunciation differ and can the carachters be mis-interpreted?

Is there any religious comparisons? Where do they fit into the 108 sins?

Thanks for your help.


Re: Seven Deadly Sins

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 11:10 am
by ppk
too bad the chinese dun really consider eating a sin so there is no exactly word for gluttony...

Re: Seven Deadly Sins

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 6:46 am
by James Campbell
Well what would you consider this to mean if it weren't gluttony:


Re: Seven Deadly Sins

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 3:11 am
by ppk
thats the name of a mythical animal, legend says it is one of the 9 sons of the dragon and it eats a lot. but it doesnt signify a 'sin'. modern chinese probably take this term the equal of a person who enjoy good food. besides, the request is 'a' chinese character. i thot of that too but its 2 characters, so i gave it up. :D

there is a word, however, to describe a person who likes to eat. but again this word doesnt really signify a sin, just a common descriptive word: 馋。